Listen to God\’s Voice

Words of wisdom for today

Observations

This is an observation about Spurgeons Baptist Catechism. The first question and answer in that document is:

1  Q  What is the chief end of man?

   A  Man's chief end is to glorify God,

“Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.
I Corinthians 10:31

and to enjoy him for ever.

“Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.” My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever. Ps 73:25, 26

There is no greater lifes work then to give God the Glory in everything I do. He alone is worthy of praise and the Psalms say that he is my portion, meaning that He is all that I need. This message is given several times in the book of psalms.

  1. Psalm 16:5
    The LORD is the portion of mine inheritance and of my cup: thou maintainest my lot.
    Psalm 16:4-6 (in Context) Psalm 16 (Whole Chapter)
  2. Psalm 17:14
    From men which are thy hand, O LORD, from men of the world, which have their portion in this life, and whose belly thou fillest with thy hid treasure: they are full of children, and leave the rest of their substance to their babes.
    Psalm 17:13-15 (in Context) Psalm 17 (Whole Chapter)
  3. Psalm 63:10
    They shall fall by the sword: they shall be a portion for foxes.
    Psalm 63:9-11 (in Context) Psalm 63 (Whole Chapter)
  4. Psalm 73:26
    My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.
    Psalm 73:25-27 (in Context) Psalm 73 (Whole Chapter)
  5. Psalm 119:57
    Thou art my portion, O LORD: I have said that I would keep thy words.
    Psalm 119:56-58 (in Context) Psalm 119 (Whole Chapter)
  6. Psalm 142:5
    I cried unto thee, O LORD: I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living.
    Psalm 142:4-6 (in Context) Psalm 142 (Whole Chapter)
Written by tfheringer

July 26, 2007 at 6:11 pm

