Listen to God\’s Voice

Words of wisdom for today

Evil lurks everywhere!

>”I just think they are very mislead by a leadership that thinks they hold they only truth. My main point is they do not hold the truth period.”

Catholics would disagree with you on very Biblical grounds. The Bible itself says that the Church is the pillar and ground of the Truth. (1Timothy 3:15)

Yes, the church is the pillar and ground of the truth, but without the scriptures as the light, the light and standard to determine what is true or not we are left to our own conclusions. Then which church is the ground of the pillar and ground, is it the Roman Catholic church or is it a local church. Every instance where the word “church” is used in the New Testament it is in reference to a local church. The only church that is truly Roman Catholic is that church which exists in Rome. All others are local churches. The problem is that no Roman Catholic church can truly be a local church, this is impossible by the very nature of Catholicism. However, a baptist church can and often are local bodies of Christ. We hold the truth in a way that the Roman Catholic church and for that mater all protestants can never do.

>” My comments are aimed at the Roman Catholic church itself.”

The Catholic laity are the Church, the Body of Christ. There is possible way to criticize the Church without critcizing lay Catholics. The Catholic leadership you oppose are my brothers in Christ. To attack a member of a family is to attack the family.

The catholic priests that you mention cannot be a brother in Christ if they have not repented fully of the murder of innocent people in the piedmont of Italy solely because they would not bend the knee to the pope. For the reason that popes in the past have had the blood of saints on their hands makes each and every successor to have blood on their hands. Read about the Saint Bartholemy day massacre and then tell me that the Roman Catholic church is a Holy organization. To me it is just an organization and I cannot say it is Christs church, because it is not Christs church. But in all fairness many of those who call themselves protestants are not Christ’s church either. This is the only reply that I am making to this post, any further comments will be deleted. I am not going to spend all of my time debating an issue that cannot come to a conclusion. I am a catholic, but in the sense of the meaning of the word “catholic”, I hold to the general faith of what it takes to be a Christian according to the apostle Paul:

Moreover, brethren, I declare unto you the gospel which I preached unto you, which also ye have received, and wherein ye stand;
(1Co 15:1)

By which also ye are saved, if ye keep in memory what I preached unto you, unless ye have believed in vain.
(1Co 15:2)

For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures;
(1Co 15:3)

And that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures:
(1Co 15:4)

And that he was seen of Cephas, then of the twelve:
(1Co 15:5)

After that, he was seen of above five hundred brethren at once; of whom the greater part remain unto this present, but some are fallen asleep.
(1Co 15:6)

After that, he was seen of James; then of all the apostles.
(1Co 15:7)

And last of all he was seen of me also, as of one born out of due time.
(1Co 15:8)

I trust the unchanging word of the Living God more, then I do the capricious statements of a man who is just a man. Popes have made some awful statements, that are worthy of the lake of fire for them. Such as those that were made in the wake of the Bartholemy day massacre. The Catholic church has made the claim of their connection to the past, this alone makes them answerable not to me, but to God. The day is soon approaching when they will stand before a Just and Holy God and be made to answer for their sins. The lake of fire is going to be full of those who have done evil in the name of Christ.

Written by tfheringer

September 5, 2008 at 9:06 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

